Saturday, 24-March-18, 3:33 PM
Welcome Spectator

Main| | My profile | Sign Up| Log out | Login
Main Menu
Next Event

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0
Announcements [87]
Car packs new content etc
Special Events [18]
Truck Series [81]
Shootouts [62]
Speedway Cup [158]
Tuesday Series [69]
Sunday Series [48]
Legends Series [2]
«  February 2014  »
Main » 2014 » February » 3 » Speedway Cup Series Season 10 Review!
10:50 AM
Speedway Cup Series Season 10 Review!

The N.O.R.L. obtained its 16th Champion last week after Scott Jackson crossed the finish line in third place during the Speedway Cup Season 10 Finale @ California. Scott became the first independently owned N.O.R.L. Champion since John Tharp, who won his crown during the 2011 Sunday Series Fall Season. The quiet NASCAR Racing 4 veteran capped off a streak of 11 top-5 finishes that began at the end of Season 9. That's only ten off of the top-5 record that belongs to 2nd-place points finisher Tim McDonnell, who grabbed 21 top-5's in-a-row between the final two Shootout Series seasons in 2013. Scott also grabbed 0 DNF's during the 10-race season, sharing the accolade with Tim McDonnell as the only two full-time drivers to do so.

The new Speedway Cup Season commenced after celebrating Jimmie Stevens' inaugural Championship in Season 9. Likewise, Season 10 would provide the crown to another newly-named superior. The season started off with seven different victors in the first seven events, something that has never happened in Speedway Cup or N.O.R.L. history. Because the drivers were so competitive this season, both Ben Geer and Tony Pizzaro were kicked out of the chase despite their victories in weeks 3 and 4. Craig Lee was the only contender to keep up with top-seeded Scott Jackson and fourth-seeded Tim McDonnell after the chase race at Indianapolis Banked. Craig fell off after a 9th place finish at Zen Joltis the next week, giving Tim a 3-point deficit behind Scott without pressure from behind. Tim would start on pole for the final race at California on January 23rd. Despite hogging the lead for most of the race, Tim's second place finish behind Dave Miller was still one spot behind the Championship crown. Scott's 3-point advantage over Tim entering the chase turned out to be the difference!

Season 10 Chase Results

Average Finish
Tim McDonnell 1.67
Scott Jackson 2.67

Tim McDonnell 131
Scott Jackson 129

Laps Led

Scott Jackson 54
Tim McDonnell 51

Other accolades this season include laps led Champion Scott Jackson, 3-time pole winner Craig Lee, and laps completed leader Tim McDonnell.

Category: Speedway Cup | Views: 185 | Added by: TonyPizzaro
Only registered users can add comments.
[ Sign Up | Login ]
Member Login
Tuesday Series

Tuesday 8:15 ET 03:15 Zulu



NORL Copyright 2018 uCOZ©