Welcome Spectator

 Saturday, 18-May-24, 7:34 PM     Logged in as Spectator | Group "Guests" RSS

Main| | My profile | Sign Up| Log out | Login
Main Menu
Announcements [89]
Car packs new content etc
Special Events [19]
Truck Series [81]
Shootouts [62]
Speedway Cup [158]
Tuesday Series [69]
NORL AI Extravaganza [415]
NORL Busch Bonanza [27]
Sunday Series [48]
Legends Series [3]
«  November 2022  »
Main » 2022 » November » 5 » 2022 Pop Secret Microwave Popcorn 400 @ Rockingham: Matt Raboin Wins!
8:19 PM
2022 Pop Secret Microwave Popcorn 400 @ Rockingham: Matt Raboin Wins!


Rick Jackson is pulling off a miracle run for the Championship after being written off by one of the Extravaganza elite. Ironically, that driver is not in the Championship chase. Pole sitter Johnny Reed Foley is, 162 points back from leader Jackson coming into Rockingham. Dave Miller comes in 8 points behind him starting 15th on the grid, with Jackson qualifying 8th.

Race Results

Points Standings

Race Recap


The green flag waved with Johnny Reed Foley attempting to earn back the 162 points lost during the first seven events. He would lose the lead to Logan Sheets early, with David Butterworth traversing from 7th place to the lead. His last top-5 finish was at this facility in the spring, looking to replicate his performance in grand style.


Multiple lead changes were the norm during the early going. The only driver with the powerhouse to pull away from the field was Scott Jackson, starting 14th and taking the lead during the first green flag run. He would remain up front for 62 laps.


Ryan Heuser took over the top-spot, racing Jackson side-by-side for  several circuits after the green flag stop. Dave Miller was able to earn his five bonus points over Jackson, taking the lead for 24 laps hoping for another Quick-Silver domination in shades of last week at Charlotte. Lap 142 saw a big crash on the frontstretch involving Aaron Cummings, Tony Long, Cristian Torres, Zakk Miller and Dalton Lucas.


Quick-SIlver Racing teammate Craig Lee took the lead away from Miller after the restart, leaving all the drivers with double-digit laps led for the second straight week. Alex Crapser stole it back while representing the other 39 teams on lap 153. He led the remaining 45 laps during the green flag run before coming in early for a minor short-pit.


Devastation occurred on lap 214 after a Steven Spears spin caused by contact with Michael Henson. The #65 slid down the turn-4 banking directly into the path of Alex Crapser, who looked to have the dominant car of the evening. The impact was enormous, obliterating the right-front of the #04 and ending his Championship hopes altogether. Spears flew up the racetrack on impact and ricocheted into Brian Lowe. Lowe was immediately pulverized by the Tony Long machine, rolling over four times and landing onto the frontstretch grass. All four drivers would fail to continue on.


Another accident in turn-4 took out chase contender Johnny Reed Foley. Contact between him and former Shake N' Bake protege Cristiano de Sa made contact. David Courtney and Dalton Lucas both slammed into the accident head-first. Second place points man Dave Miller recieved front-end damage in the crash, already a lap down after getting trapped during the last caution. He would miraculously fly through the field and wind up in 14th place by the end, keeping in full distance with Rick Jackson for the title.


Tim McDonnell had inhereted the lead from Craig Lee after a miraculous pit stop during the Brian Lowe caution. He would lose it on the restart after the next caution flag, handing Randy Dobbins the top-spot for several laps before Lee re-took the position. The #101 NOS Energy chevrolet led from lap 239 to 244. Dobbins took it back from him and led through lap 269. From behind, points leader Rick Jackson attempts to get one of his two laps back after a loose lug nut forced him to come in early.


A complete miracle for Rick Jackson! Towards the end of green flag stops, Markell Murphy spun in turn 4 to bring out the caution, barely giving Rick both of his laps back just laps before he had to take fuel. Dave Miller was still trapped a lap down, swinging the difference a full 100 points during the cycle. Matt Raboin had led through the entire green flag run before Donald Stewart earned himself the lead to steal a few bonus points.


The final green flag stint saw more of the same from Matt Raboin, who led throughout and looked to earn his fourth victory of the season. Second place Donald Stewart entered the pits on lap 340, with Raboin coming in on lap 351. The #55 came out with a full 8-second advantage that would dwindle coming to the final 40-lap dash.


Raboin would catch and make the pass on Stewart to earn the top-spot with no pressure from behind. Probably the most inconsistant season in recent memory, as Raboin and the Valvoline crew would cross the finish line first to earn their fourth victory of the season despite being 21st in points. It is his fourth victory at a fourth completely different racetrack, earning all the victories for Quantum while Matthew Dominique battles for the Championship with zero. Congrats to Matt, crew chief Takumi Fujiwara and the rest of the Quantum Racing crew for an excellent victory!

2022 Pop Secret Microwave 400 Video

Category: NORL AI Extravaganza | Views: 81 | Added by: anthonypiazza88888
Only registered users can add comments.
[ Sign Up | Login ]
Member Login
AI Extravaganza

Friday, May 24th, 6:00 ET
Pocono 400 Results

2024 All-Star Race
AI Bonanza

AI Indy Car

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0

NORL Copyright 2024 uCOZ©